top of page


The presentation of the Club awards takes place at an annual dinner. They commemorate the lives of Old Salvos tragically lost too early. 


Requiescat in pace. 

The Tom Kavanagh Memorial Shield

(Significant Contribution)

Tom Kavanagh was a rare being. A committed player for three decades, including many appearances for the 1st XI, Tom was also a perfectionist who sought perfection from others too.


A man of principle, he could often be found debating the rights and wrongs of any subject late into the evening. He famously once paid his subs on the spot at an AGM when it was pointed out that he had not done so and was not therefore entitled to an opinion!


The award was donated by John Regan and Jim Locke, long standing friends and fellow members who had spent much time with Tom over many years and is awarded by the committee to someone or a group who have made a significant contribution outside the normal running of the Club. 


2022 - 2023 Andrew Smith

2021 - 2022 Ruairi O'Connor

2020 - 2021 Eddy Dempsey

2019 - 2020 No award (Covid)

2018 - 2019 James Smith

2017 - 2018 Martin Stewart

2016 - 2017 Dan Forde

2015 - 2016 Liam Donoher

2014 - 2015 Nick Durnian

2013 - 2014 Martin Stewart 

2012 - 2013 Phil Welsh

2011 - 2012 Kevin McLoughlin
2010 - 2011 Gerry Derry, Vinny Lawson & Michael Gibbons



bottom of page